Retrieving control values from within a DataList

Hi everyone,

I've been programming for many years, but have just started teaching myself .NET within the last year.. and I have an issue, in which I could use some of your expert advice ;)

(This is developed in vb.net)

I'm populating a Datalist on page load (if not ispostback).  There are are a series of controls, within the datalist (labels, a textbox, a hyperlink, a button & a dropdownlist).

When the button is clicked (CommandName = AddToCart), I'm retrieving the values of these controls and populating some session variables.  It works great for the textbox & dropdownlist, but for some reason I'm unable to retrieve the values from the labels & hyperlink.

The code compiles properly and executes properly, but the values from the labels & hyperlink are blank.

At this point, all of the controls, including the datalist, have enableviewstate = true

Here is the code, that I have within the Itemlist_ItemCommand sub procedure:

If e.CommandName = "AddToCart" Then

Session("item_id") = CType(e.Item.FindControl("lbl_item_id"), Label).Text
   Session("item_desc") = CType(e.Item.FindControl("hlinkitem_title"), HyperLink).Text
   Session("price") = CType(e.Item.FindControl("price"), Label).Text
   Session("quantity") = CType(e.Item.FindControl("lblqty"), TextBox).Text

If CType(e.Item.FindControl("ddlsizes"), DropDownList).Enabled = True Then
      Session("size_id") = CType(e.Item.FindControl("ddlsizes"), DropDownList).SelectedItem.Value
      Session("size") = CType(e.Item.FindControl("ddlsizes"), DropDownList).SelectedItem.Text
   Else
      Session("size_id") = "0"
      Session("size") = "No Size"
   End If

End If

Here is the trace, of the itemlist:  (The problem controls seem to be the 'databoundliteralcontrols'...  This is where i could use some learning & your help)...

Itemlist System.Web.UI.WebControls.DataList 5637 76
            Itemlist:_ctl0 System.Web.UI.WebControls.DataListItem 0 0